Tourist in My City

Over the past few days, my friends and I were supposed to take a trip to the beach, but you know how that August weather is. So instead, we decided to do a staycation in the city. During this staycation, we partook in everything a tourist would do in the city. Here is a Itinerary of our adventures

MUSEUMS

Coincidentally, August is Museum month in NOLA, so we took advantage by visiting the Southern Food and Beverage museum, Ashe Cultural Arts Center, WWII museum, and the Ogden Museum of Southern Art. Living in New Orleans, its easy to forget the beauty of the city and the culture that makes us one of the most popular cities in the world. So visiting these museums made me excited about New Orleans again.

FOOD

My favorite place to eat at any time of the year is Superior Grill, so of course I suggested we eat there! They serve great Mexican food, even their salads are A1. The next night my friends and I ate at Little Tokyo (we were in the mood for sushi) and had to participate in the karaoke night!

p.s. Mariah Carey had nothing on us

HOTEL

The best part about booking a hotel the night before is the CHEAP prices. We stayed at the Embassy Suites,a 4 star hotel. We had a balcony, complementary breakfast, and complementary happy hour for only $99/night. We booked on hotels.com and they had great rates all over the city. Definitely going to make this a common thing.

DOWNTOWN

Now we could not be successful tourists, if we did not take a nice walk in Downtown New Orleans. This was right before the pouring rain of course. I cannot put the magic of the city into words. Just seeing the historical architecture, the elaborate hotels, and the street performers who play their instruments like that are in a concert gave me chills.

ART

To top off our staycation in NOLA, my friends and I went to Painting With A Twist.  Here, we added our own paint style to a canvas with a template already drawn out. It was fun seeing everyone’s own creations!

The last 3 days in New Orleans have been so amazing and perfectly timed considering I will be going back to school in Baton Rouge in a few days. I will definitely be doing this again soon. There is so much more to see in the city. 3 days cannot possibly justify it.

 

Leave a Reply

